DUI Defense Attorney in Richmond, VA

Virginia law enforcement & courts take DUI and DWI charges seriously. The consequences are far reaching, following you for the rest of your life if you are convicted.

If you were charged with driving under the influence (DUI), the best time to contact a criminal defense attorney is now. Early intervention by an experienced lawyer can help improve your chances of reducing the charge and minimizing potential consequences.

Make Cravens and Noll, P.C. your first call after your DUI arrest. Our attorneys have decades of experience in driving under the influence traffic violations. Put our knowledge on your case. Contact us as soon as possible.

Definition of a DUI in Virginia

Under Virginia law, a person is considered driving under the influence when they are operating a motor vehicle and:

  • Having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more
  • Under the influence of alcohol
  • Under the influence of any narcotic or intoxicant drug
  • Under the influence of both drugs and alcohol
  • In Virginia, there is no difference between a DUI and a DWI (driving while intoxicated) in the law. Both offenses have the same consequences and are only used to specify the type of reckless driving.

Essentially, if you are operating a motor vehicle (car, moped, boat, etc.) while you are drunk or after taking perception-changing drugs, you can be accused of driving under the influence in Virginia.

Consequences of A DUI Conviction in Virginia

Virginia takes DUI convictions very seriously, with heavy punishments for even first-time offenders. DUIs are considered Class 1 misdemeanors in Virginia, the highest level of misdemeanor.

This means that the offense will stay on your criminal record forever.

If you are convicted of a DUI, your punishment will vary depending on how many prior convictions you may have had on your record, whether in Virginia or another state in the US:

  • First DUI: a $250 minimum fine; a one-year revocation of your driver’s license
  • Second DUI: a $500 minimum fine; the revocation of your driver’s license for three years; a possible jail sentence of up to one year. If this is your second DUI within 5 years of your first conviction, you will receive a mandatory 20 days in jail. If this is your second DUI conviction within 10 years of your first, you will receive a minimum 10-day jail sentence.
  • Third DUI: a $1,000 minimum fine; the mandatory revocation of your driver’s license for an indefinite period; prosecution as a Class 6 felony. If you are convicted for a third DUI within 5 years of your first, you must serve a 6-month, mandatory minimum jail sentence. If convicted within 10 years of your first DUI, you must serve a 90-day mandatory minimum jail sentence.
  • Fourth DUI: a 1-year mandatory minimum jail sentence.

While your punishment varies depending on your BAC level and number of convictions, there are some common consequences for a DUI conviction. Those consequences can include:

  • Payment for and enrollment in 2nd completion of the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP);
  • Loss of job opportunities and CDL licensure
  • Loss or restriction of child visitation or custody;
  • Loss of housing opportunities because of restricted driving privileges
  • Increase in the cost of auto insurance or revocation altogether;
  • Cost to place ignition interlock systems on your car to measure BAC.

DUIs not only impair your public record, they affect your personal future. A DUI charge carries a social stigma that many employers, landlords, banks, and other institutions view negatively. That’s why it’s so important to have a strong defense on your side.

Aggressive Drunk Driving Defense:

A DUI can cost you hundreds if not thousands of dollars in fines, loss of your driver’s license, and possible time in jail. Do not risk facing these charges alone. Hire a skilled attorney to prepare your defense.

The attorneys at Cravens and Noll bring decades of experience to your case. We know how to attack the evidence against you and find opportunities to reduce your charge. Our goal is to help you avoid the impact of a DUI charge.

We handle cases involving:

  • First-time DUI charge
  • Second or third DUI charges
  • Underage DUI
  • Negligent homicide

Above all else, we care about your well-being and your future.

Our attorneys will listen to your story and tirelessly search for the best defense. We’ve seen first-hand the devastating effects of DUI charges, and we want to help you preserve your life and opportunities in the future.

Underage DUI:

In Virginia, someone under the age of 21 need only have a .02 percent blood alcohol content to be charged with driving under the influence (DUI).

Other penalties include driver’s license suspension for one year, community service and a mandatory minimum fine.

Additionally, a conviction may prevent one from being accepted into a university or graduate program.

At Cravens and Noll, P.C., we provide aggressive representation to clients facing DUI charges as a minor. Our Richmond underage DUI defense attorneys concentrate on minimizing the impact of a DUI charge.

Contact the Defense Attorneys at Cravens and Noll

If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, you need a compassionate and skilled team on your side, every step of the way.

That’s why you should contact the defense attorneys at Cravens and Noll.

Our experience, coupled with our focus on client-care, makes us uniquely qualified to defend your case in court. No matter your case, we want to give you a fighting chance in court. It is your life. If it is important to you, it is our mission.

Fight your DUI Conviction in Virginia

If you are facing DWI charges in Richmond, then you need the assistance of a professional DUI lawyer in order to resolve the case in your favor. Cravens & Noll is your DUI defense law firm committed to assisting you throughout the length of your case. Protect your future and mount a winning defense with our expert team. To find out more about our services, or for a free consultation, contact us today by calling (804) 330-9220.

Your Traffic & DUI Lawyers In Virginia

Giving You Peace of Mind — Our attorneys have over 30 years of experience representing clients who are facing extraordinary challenges. Every case is unique, and that’s why you need professional legal counsel to help you decide your next steps. Contact one of our attorneys today to learn more.

Request a Consultation

Get your case reviewed within 24 hours.

C&N Interest Form
I have read the disclaimer. | Privacy Policy

As your attorney, our goal is to help you feel immediate relief from the moment you contact us. In times like this, you need answers, stability, and confidence. That means giving your individual case the one-on-one attention and care it deserves.

4 Locations    |    804-330-9220    |    540-246-0684

Skip to content